Down Time

17 Sep

Today I’m not feeling so hot and I fear that my regular scheduled activites may be put on hold for the next week. Super bummed. Cross fingers I feel better for Wednesday’s Samba class!

So while I’m hanging around the house this Saturday, I’m trying to keep myself busy and not get  too bored. This morning to distract myself from some pain I’m experiencing, I decided to watch two back to back episodes of Chuck Day’s Off on the Food Network. For some reason watching cooking shows really relaxes me!

Here are a couple of dishes Chuck made on his day off:

Creamy Tomato Soup  — I’m not a big fan of tomatoes but I do enjoy tomato soup. His trick: adding a rind of parmesean cheese to the tomatoes while cooking and then of course sprinkling grated parm on top.

Grilled Cheese with Carmelized Onion — obviously the carmelized onion was the unique ingredient. Everyone on the show was like “Mmmmm!”

Everything he makes is looks yummy but he does use a lot of butter and cheeses for example and isn’t afraid to fry things. This ain’t no healthy dining. He does work in a bar, afterall. Once I made his fried stuffed olives which were delicious! However after the 4th olive…it was just too much.

Do cooking shows relax you too or just make you want to cook what they’re cooking?…Or do cooking shows make you want to eat in general? I ain’t going to lie. I’ve already decided to have some soup for dinner.

Completely unrelated but I also spent some time this morning over at Leo Babauta’s blog Zen Habits. He organized a webinar featuring Jennifer Gresham (a career guru) and discussed how to find your passion. It was really interesting.

For the rest of the afternoon I plan to continue sitting on my butt, catching up on blogs, watching some tv, reading my new book (The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein), reading fashion magazines, and cleaning out my make up bag, including cleaning all the brushes. EXCITING..hahaha.

If I was my normal self and things were going according to plan, I would have done the following this morning: an early A.M. spin class, followed by weights, or some Pop Pilates videos and then possibly a ballet class downtown.

I hope your Saturday is much more interesting.

One Response to “Down Time”

  1. Marcy September 18, 2011 at 9:43 AM #

    I love watching cooking shows while I’m on my treadmill. Kind of weird, I guess. I only try a recipe from one every once in a while, but I think I get a lot of ideas that just get used in adaptations.

Leave a Reply

