I Spent My Friday Evening at the Gym…No, really I did!

3 Jun

Yep! I switched things up a bit and decided to go to the gym after work. Felt like I needed to start my weekend with a bit more pep in my step.

I strategically set up an alarm in my calendar to pop up at 5:25pm as I was leaving work to remind/motivate me. It literally read:

“Get thee to the gym. You’ll feel fantastic afterwards!!”

Yes, I know, I’m a dork!

I decided to try a new cardio machine that I have wanted to try for some time now. It’s Friday. Not many people were at the gym. No one would notice the newbie on the stairmaster and luckily one was available.

I lasted 10 minutes! It’s impressive how you can move relatively slowly yet work up a sweat and heart rate! I actually started to increase the pace at the start because I didn’t think I was working out hard enough. Sure enough, 5 minutes later I started to feel that things were getting a bit challenging. At 10 minutes my heart was beating out of my chest and I was noticeably sweating.

Scared of what was happening, I decided to go back to my comfort zone and jumped on the elliptical for 30 min. I felt a bit silly and afterwards decided to have another go at the stairmaster. This time I lasted 15 minutes…slowing down significantly for the last 2 minutes. I was dripping with sweat and out of breath. Crazy!

The only thing I did not enjoy about the stairmaster was that I kept hitting my foot at the base of the step and could not seem to avoid. Also, I was often looking down at the steps thinking that if I didn’t, I might fall. Yes, I was that girl that didn’t run up stairs two at a time. Even now, I have to think twice about it.

I finished up my workout with 200 reps of abs! I decided I could accomplish 25 sets of 8 different  ab exercises. And I did!

I really did feel fantastic after this workout. I left the gym listening to Empire State of Mind by Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys. I felt on top of the world, that was until I was set back into my place by a moth!

Yes, you heard right!

A huge MOTH attacked me while I was riding on the SUBWAY!

I looked like a fool running away from it but after awhile the other subway riders realized the reason behind my erratic movements. I don’t like moths. I’m afraid of butterflies too. I’m weird, I know.

HAPPY FRIDAY!

7 Responses to “I Spent My Friday Evening at the Gym…No, really I did!”

  1. Dark Knight June 3, 2011 at 11:04 PM #

    Hahahahaha! Butterflies!

  2. Kira June 4, 2011 at 5:37 AM #

    Took me 23 min to climb the CN Tower– back when I was younger and fitter (and still no doubt less fit than you are now!– Ah, the beer, Chinese food and other unmentionables of my uni lifestyle.) I’m sure you conquered at least that- and on a Friday night no less! Does the stairmaster give you an altitude measurement? I have to admit, I’ve never actually seen one, ’til your photo.

    • Nat June 5, 2011 at 7:29 PM #

      23 minutes! That’s impressive. Yes, the one I was on tells you how many flights of stairs you have climbed.

  3. Corina June 4, 2011 at 7:30 AM #

    I’m exhausted just by reading your work-out list.

    So exhausted, in fact, that I think I deserve a hot-fudge sundae.

    • Nat June 5, 2011 at 7:30 PM #

      Hot-fudge sundae..Mmmm!

  4. She-Fit June 4, 2011 at 10:18 AM #

    That cardio machine is killer. The first time I was on that I couldn’t even last a minute. I’m still lucky if I can get in 10 minutes. Way to kick off the weekend on the right foot

    • Nat June 5, 2011 at 7:33 PM #

      Thanks. I will definitely try it again. It’s nice to be able to switch things up and challenge myself.

Leave a Reply

