Books and Movies

15 May
I finished reading Bossypants by Tina Fey. In fact, I read it in about four days.
It was super hilarious. Pee in your pants funny. Tina Fey has a gift for telling it like it is or how it is not and how it should be  ..haha. The book is sort of a memoir of how her life has been thus far with flashbacks to her childhood and growing up to her start writing for SNL and her current project, 30 Rock.  I really don’t know how to best describe this book because each chapter could call for it’s own discussion. If you like Tina Fey or her work, you should read this book. If you want a good laugh and if you are a woman, you should read this book. If like random things and like to talk in tangents, you should read this book.
I also just finished watching Lars and the Real Girl staring Ryan Gosling.
I used to have a major crush on Mr. Gosling back when he was a big nerd on Breaker High. Does anyone remember Breaker High? I hope so! You can’t make shows like that anymore ..haha.
I thought this movie was really moving, sweet, and heartfelt. It was sad with many moments of awkward humour. The story was really well done and it was a really great pick for a rainy Sunday afternoon.  I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for something a little bit different.
Thank you to my friend Mara for letting me borrow both book and movie (and Mara, I still have your other movie and will be watching it soon).
In food and exercise news, all I can say is “meh”.  I seem to be moving in the opposite direction with my goals and it’s such bad timing being close to summer and shorts season. I’m going to try to limit sweet treats a.k.a. my downfall, to one day per week and see if I can be good during the weekdays. Cross fingers.
I also purchased Jillian Michael’s book, The Master Your Metabolism Cookbook. I’m super excited to dig into it and cook something up. I’m going to start by reading the beginning to see what is behind her recipes and then get started. I must admit I don’t know too much about JM. I don’t even watch the Biggest Loser ..I know, I have shocked you all! I just can’t watch people in pain. Well yes I can – cut to all the hospital shows – but those are all actors. Anyway, when I did look at the book a lot of recipes caught my eye and I know all of them will be healthy so I decided to purchase it.
Until Next Time!

Leave a Reply

