Willpower? Self-control? Where are you guys?!

26 Apr

So as much as I have been trying, I have not yet seemed to control my recent bad snacking habits! I am no match for the chocolate brownie cupcakes that my coworker made (had one today and one yesterday) or the French macarons (my favourite!) that magically appeared in the office (had one today…okay 3!).

www.nataliedee.com
www.nataliedee.com

Even though my gym routine has returned to normal, more or less, my bad snacking habits seem to have ingrained themselves into my diet.

I’m hoping to counter this problem by bringing lots of healthy snacks to work. However, I have to do this skillfully to make sure I actually eat them! For example, I plan on taking a banana with peanut butter to work tomorrow, which is nutritious, filling and dessert-like. This snack should work well. An orange, on the other hand, will not work because I know I have no desire to peel it and get my fingers messy eating it. Plus, what usually ends up happening is that the poor orange gets thrown into the fridge to snack on “later”.  The reject then sits there for weeks until I remember where I put it and by that time it’s old and lumpy and ready to throw away.

If anyone has healthy snack ideas that are not labourious to prepare or complicated travel to work with – let me know!

Today, I was inspired by this blogpost by Janetha over at Meals and Moves. I even sent a link to my boyfriend to read (who unfortunately probably deleted it thinking I was sending him random nonsense again).

In any case, I am going to put myself to the test tomorrow and challenge my super weak willpower:

For at least ONE day, I will try not to eat anything sugary/unhealthy.

Yes, it has become that bad.

I’m announcing it here in the hope that it makes me accountable. Crossing my fingers…and my toes that I can do this!

2 Responses to “Willpower? Self-control? Where are you guys?!”

  1. janetha April 26, 2011 at 11:37 PM #

    You can do it and you will! Just take it one bite at a time and remember your commitment and your goal!!!!!!

    • Nat April 27, 2011 at 8:42 PM #

      Thanks!! So far, so good!

Leave a Reply

