Raccoons and Pipes…

16 Mar

This is what I bumped into on my way home this evening.

(No, I didn’t actually stop to take a picture..keep reading)

I was going to take my regular shortcut in between some buildings heading towards the subway when Mr. Raccoon stopped me dead in my tracks. I watched it slowly emerge into the middle of the walkway and I kind of freaked out. (I hope no one saw me!) I then decided the next logical move would be to walk in the opposite direction as to avoid confrontation. Are Raccoons dangerous?! I had to know the answer to my question right away so I called my boyfriend. He laughed and explained that my actions were probably smart since city raccoons have grown to be quite intelligent and this particular raccoon could have held me up for my wallet. Phew… dodged a bullet there!

 

Anyway, I’ve been super busy lately but I wanted to quickly announce that I’m taking part in the  Life After Bagels PIPES CHALLENGE!

It’s all about arms and for me it’s about improving my upper body strength. This challenge comes at a great time because my arm muscles have been neglected lately. After some thought, I realized that in order to really challenge myself, I am going to do the same as Morgan, the creator of this challenge, and attempt to do the 100 pushup program.

The challenge lasts for 6 weeks and starts this Monday!

Ahh..what am I getting myself into?!

2 Responses to “Raccoons and Pipes…”

  1. Kira March 18, 2011 at 1:42 PM #

    Ah, Flight Reflex…I know it well! (Though the catalysts are different for me– was your raccoon as cute as the one in the photo?) I always choose flight over fight. Good decision!
    I’m intrigued by the 100 Push-up challenge…and may actually give it a go. (Tho on second thought, I don’t have any health insurance so…maybe I should try a wimpier activity? And avoid the likely injuries which would result from multiple push-ups in a day after no push-ups in a year?)x

    • Nat March 20, 2011 at 3:35 PM #

      Kira! Come to think of it Mr. Raccoon was cute, if he came in a stuffed animal toy version. You should definitely try the pushup challenge. It seems manageable.. I think..I hope!

Leave a Reply

