episodes in emotional eating

13 Mar

I’m proud to say that this weekend I really put some serious effort into focusing on my eating. Lately I’ve been snacking a lot more than necessary and on weekends… well, it’s game over. Weekends are my downfall, hands down.

It all started when I stumbled across this blog post on emotional eating late Friday night. I got sucked in by her experience and her helpful advice and came to the realization that I have been doing some serious emotional eating lately.

Upset? I eat. Happy? I eat. Stressed? I eat. Bored? I eat.

So yesterday and today I completely monitored the situation and ate really healthy and snacked like a normal human being. What got me through it? Chugging LOTS of water, making sure I had protein in most of my meals and oh, I rediscovered smart pop popcorn (the 100 calorie snack-size version).

This weekend, I also went to a cardio kickboxing class in the middle of the day. Normally on weekends, if I go to the gym, I try to get it out of the way early in morning to make time for other activities.

9am spin class, check!..11am step class? check!…2:15pm kick box?..err

I went with my friend and we had a lot of fun.  It was great to break up my day, which was otherwise filled with never ending studying. I was refreshed and definitely not thinking about snacking on bad things. Man, do I feel the effects of that class. My hamstrings and inner thighs are screaming!

I will definitely have to focus more on my upper body this week, which brings up  a challenge that I will be participating in. More details to come a little later.

For now, I hope to stay on track with my emotional eating episodes.

Wish me luck!

One Response to “episodes in emotional eating”

  1. ~m March 13, 2011 at 9:11 PM #

    that class was awesome! i definitely want to go back next week!

    yay for eating well🙂

Leave a Reply

