My job is making me fat …a.k.a. I have no willpower.

10 Jun

The Meeting Leftovers

This is the food that is placed on the communal table that happens to be right in front of my desk. It comes from breakfast meetings, lunch meetings, and afternoon, “why do we even need snacks in this meeting” meetings.  When the meeting is finished, it all comes back to my office space.

Sample Leftovers:
-sandwiches and wraps in all shapes and sizes
-assortment of cookies
-blueberry, apple, cherry danishes
-assortment of muffins
-chocolate, cheese and butter croissants

 The Catered Affair

We have been having a lot of events at my work lately –parties if you will, that are professionally catered with hot and cold food, wine, etc. When the event winds down, we assess how much food is left and so not to have it be a complete waste, our real task of the night kicks in – eating what’s left!  Well, it’s not that drastic. We usually try to give it away to the students who helped work the event but since by the end of the event our job is done, we do tend to indulge a bit before it goes in the trash.

Sample Catered Goodness:
-crackers and cheese
-cookies
-baked goods of every kind
-chicken skewers
-mini pizzas
-chips
-fruit and veggies with dip

The Baker’s Goodies

This is the co-worker who likes to bake but is smart enough to not get herself fat and as a result unloads her goodies on her unsuspecting colleagues. I had one of these at my old work. She claimed that she was allergic to sugar and flour etc. and couldn’t eat the cookies she made, so we all had to. Maybe she was indeed allergic to sugar because the sheer amount she put in them was shocking! Bless her heart.

A couple of days ago my colleague unloaded chocolate chip coconut squares. They were nowhere near healthy judging from the yummy buttery sugar base. When she brought them over she kind of plopped them on the communal table saying: “Here you go!” I think she was really saying: “Damn I overdosed on these over the weekend and it sure as hell cannot continue! Be gone sugary goodness!”

The Popular Coworker

This is when your colleague becomes your favourite person in the office by bringing in some purchased treat just for kicks: “Here’s your morning pick me up guys. Enjoy!” or “What a tough afternoon, this will make it all better!”

Sample Offerings:
-multiple Tim Horton’s Timbits
-Twizzlers Licorice

 

The Manger’s Bounty

I think part of the way my manager presents herself as a friendly person is the ever-present candy at her desk – always at least two varieties. She sometimes grabs a handful to share during a small meeting but usually they are there in front her desk, for people to graze over during a meeting in her office. And the best part – people, including me at times, have a tendency to go into her office just to grab some candy – both when she is there and when she is not!

Sample Bounty:
-Werther’s Originals
-Riesen Chocolate
-Hersey’s Kisses

 

So… you can see how my willpower is a bit strained.

What is your workplace feeding you? Do you exercise willpower?

One Response to “My job is making me fat …a.k.a. I have no willpower.”

  1. soulblindministry June 10, 2012 at 11:33 PM #

    mmmmmm… slurp

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

