Hunger Games and Burning Quads

25 Mar

I saw the Hunger Games on Saturday, along with many giddy teenagers. The verdict – It was a really great movie! I read the book and was eagerly anticipating seeing the movie. The boyfriend didn’t read the book but thoroughly enjoyed the movie as well and now he is planning to read the book. I still think the book was better than the movie but the movie itself was very well done. I won’t give anything away since it just opened but I recommend that you see it. It was well worth it!

 

In other news, this past week I have been running a lot. Why? Because I’m signed up for a 10k race!

I have never run a race before and a 10k will be a challenge. I have only ever run that distance once and it could have just been a fluke that I survived it.

On Tuesday, I ran around 6-7k with a friend. On Wednesday, I ran a crazy 7.5 k to the waterfront with another friend and then jogged/walked 7.5k to return. This friend must have not remembered that we are training for a 10k and not a half marathon! I will tell you that right in the middle of that adventure we did stop for a small bit of gelato so it wasn’t all that bad…hahaha. On Thursday, I joined the running group my brother leads and ran what was suppose to be 5k but ended up being a very fast 7k.

This week of running meant that my quads have been on FIIIIRRREEE. This occurs while walking in general, walking upstairs, walking downstairs, sitting…everything! I know it’s probably because I have done too much too fast so I hope it gets better as I continue to train.

Tomorrow the weather is dropping significantly so I’m going to do my own run on the treadmill and some Pilates afterwards to stretch myself out. I hope to run 3 times in total this week to keep up my endurance. Running and I have a love-hate relationship but I do enjoy a challenge!

 

2 Responses to “Hunger Games and Burning Quads”

  1. Dark Knight March 25, 2012 at 10:28 PM #

    Are you saying the insanity workout wasn’t worthy of a mention?

    • Nat March 26, 2012 at 9:43 PM #

      That’s right! I forgot about the Insanity workout that I was cursing my way through. I’m adding tricep and hip pain to my list now because of that workout! haha.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

